On June 1, 2009, the U.S. Government implemented the full requirements of the land and sea phase of Western Hemisphere Travel Initiative (WHTI). The rules require most U.S. citizens entering the United States at land or sea ports of entry, including travel to and from Canada, Mexico, Bermuda, and the Caribbean region which includes 17 nations, to have a passport, passport card, or  other travel document approved by the Department of Homeland Security.

The Clerk of the Circuit Court and Comptroller is an acceptance agent, responsible for receiving and forwarding your application to the Department of State, Passport Services. The U.S. Department of State establishes the guidelines for acceptance and how the passports are processed. Should you have any questions, problems, or concerns, please contact the appropriate Passport Office by calling toll free at 877-4USA-PPT ( 877-487-2778) or for TTY/TDD 888-874-7793. You can also obtain information about passports by visiting any of the following pages on the  Travel. State. Gov website.

Instructions for Application with the Clerk of the Circuit and County Comptroller

Note: All applicants must appear in person for a passport, including minors.