Collecting on a Judgement
After the Court has reached a settlement or awarded a judgment against the defendant, the case is closed. Any subsequent activity, including collection efforts, will require payment of a reopening fee 90 days passed the disposition of the case. The reopen fee is $25 for all claims not more than $500 and $50 for all claims more than $500.
Record a Certified Copy of the Final Judgment
A recorded judgment gives you a “Lien” or interest in any land or real property the defendant may own in the county where the judgment is recorded. Certified copies are available from the Clerk’s office. The cost is $1.00 per page and $2.00 to certify the document. The recording fee is $10.00 for the first page and $8.50 for each page thereafter. In addition there is a fee of $1.00 per name after the first four names. The recorded judgment shall be a lien as provided by Florida Statute 55.10.
Order to Show Cause
When 45 days have elapsed from the signing of the Final Judgment and the Fact Information Sheet has not been received by you or the Clerk’s office, you may file a Motion to request the Order to Show Cause for failure to provide a fact information sheet. This Order scheduling a hearing shall be entered by the Judge requiring the judgment debtor to appear. The Process Server will require a service fee to serve the Order.
Judgment Lien Information
Effective October 1, 2001 the Florida Department of State, Division of Corporations will maintain a database of judgment lien records. Their phone number is 850-245-6039. You may also go to https://dos.myflorida.com/sunbiz/forms/judgment-lien/ to obtain additional information.
Writ of Execution
Ten days after the judgment has been entered, the Clerk can issue a Writ of Execution. If you are aware of any personal property that the defendant owns (car, television, etc.) the Sheriff can levy and sell the personal property. A deposit will be required in order for the Sheriff to levy and sell the property. You must contact the Sheriff’s office for this information. A Writ of Execution can be obtained from the Clerk’s office, there are additional fees required for the Sheriff’s office to serve, payable to the Citrus County Sheriff.
Satisfaction of Judgment
If at any time the defendant pays you in full, obtain a “Satisfaction of Judgment” from the Clerk of the County Court, and have it recorded. A copy of the recorded Satisfaction must be provided to the defendant. If a Writ of Execution is docketed with the Sheriff, notify them of payment received.